top of page
  • Writer's pictureDr, PHEW!

Aren't We All Beginners At Some Point?


First we open our eyes, before we let colours set in.

First we drink milk, before we try out solid food.

First we crawl, before we walk.

First we learn ABC, before D,E,F.


Aren't we all beginners of some sort at some point?


Our life equation:

When we are younger, Growth = desire to learn + curiosity.


As we mature into adulthood, Growth = desire to learn / (time + money)


That's when we weigh on the pros and cons (usually for most people) of whether we should pursue a new interest or to simply learn something to improve ourself, against the interest of time and money.


Life becomes more complicated after we hit our 20s, time is of its essence and money, well money speaks everything for some, isn't it? When works get in the way, most people get stuck in their own bubbles, aka comfort zones. It's less of a hassle. You don't need to worry about unexpected things if you are in your safety bubble, that prevents/protects you from stepping into the unknown. So, people are comfortable with what they have and they find trying out new things or learning basically became less desirable. It could be a waste of time for them. That's the reality for some people, unfortunately.

Though, wouldn't you say, despite how comfortable you are in your bubble, one day or the next, how confident you are in saying that you wouldn't be bored?


Life, is all about trial and errors. For an artist to say he or she is into art and design, one would have experienced THE FIRST DAY of them trying out sketching or colouring. For a dancer to be able to dance beautifully in front of millions, one would have to gone through hours and hours of training to reach to that stage. The passion of our interest in any matter BUILDS OVER TIME and it has to START SOMEWHERE.


You are not born an artist, nor you are born to be a doctor.


Our desire of learning, our passion to pursue an interest, all STARTS WITH US.


A year ago, I couldn't bake a loaf of bread or a whole cake. Heck, I can't even fry an egg. My sunny side-up, doesn't look appetising in any way. It was that bad. BUT, did I let it dampened my dream to be able to bake my own cake or pie? Well, at times kinda, but still I would love to try baking some day.


It was the weekend before my mother's 56th birthday and I thought, hey, I really want to do something special for her birthday this year.


One thing led to another, and off I went searching for an apple pie recipe on YouTube. Some that seems to be too complicated for a beginner, some with views that doesn't help in boosting my confidence. Then, I found myself being caught between NatashaKitchen's and PreppyKitchen's apple pie recipes.


First of all, they are both fantastic bakers, and excellent teachers on YouTube, so can you imagine why I was having a hard time in picking THE ONE to follow? Then again, I thought, who say I can't mix both recipes and have one that favours my own?


I got all excited and a trip down to the grocery shop was all I had in my mind, it's time to hunt for ingredients!


These were the videos I watched on YouTube:




And, DRUM ROLLS PLEASE 🥁!


Here's a video to commemorate the day I baked my first ever apple pie (from scratch!)


It looks pretty amazing, I must say! And believe me when I say this, it tastes damn delicious too! Not bad for my first try!


The family loved it! We even paired it up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!


The point of the story is, as cheesy as it sounds, if you never try, you would never know.


If you have something on your mind that you have been dying to try out or to learn, what's stopping you?


Aren't we all beginners at some point in life?

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page